La Festa al Fresco

My dear friend Ivonne, at Cream Puffs in Venice, sent me an invitation to take part in a cooking event that she and Lisa of La Mia Cucina are hosting. It’s called La Festa al Fresco and everyone was to bring a dish featuring any fresh summer ingredient. Since my kitchen sink won’t drain at the moment, my submission doesn’t require cooking…and nothing to wash but a knife and spoon!

Fruit Delight

Fruit Delight

Ingredients
  1 qt strawberries
  1 pint blueberries
  1 bunch green grapes
  4 navel oranges (or 6 tangerines)
  Cane sugar
  Pure honey
Directions
  1. Wash strawberries, blueberries and grapes
  2. Remove stems
  3. Peel oranges and cut slices into bite-size pieces
  4. Quarter the strawberries
  5. Combine all fruit in large serving bowl
  6. Sprinkle with sugar (I used Domino Organic)
  7. Pour enough honey over the fruit to lightly coat
  8. Toss gently and cover
  9. Chill at least 2 hours before serving
4 thoughts on “La Festa al Fresco

  1. La Festa al Fresco

    Stephany,

    Thank you so much for taking part and sending this incredible dish! I love the colours and of course fruit is perfect for any festa. I’m especially intrigued by the cane sugar as I’m not familiar with it and I love learning about new ingredients!

    Your dish will have a special place at our table!

    Hope you’re well. I’m actually on my way to bed after coming home from a BBQ but I just had to check my e-mail and I’m glad that I did!

    By the way, thanks for the pics of Micke!

    • Re: La Festa al Fresco

      Ivonne,

      Thank you for the invitation – what an honour to have a special place at your table!

      I should have just said granulated sugar instead of “cane sugar”. Dixie Crystals, Domino, and Imperial are all made from sugar cane. My favorite is Imperial’s extra-fine granulated.

  2. La Festa al Fresco

    Stephany – There is nothing I like more in the summer than a good fruit salad and yours is beautiful! The colors are amazing and I love that you added the honey.. for some reason I think it brings out the natural sweetness of the fruit and I use it all the time. I’m so excited you’ve joined our party.. thank you so much for such a beautiful dish!

    Lisa – La Mia Cucina

    • Re: La Festa al Fresco

      Lisa,

      Thank you for your kind comments. I’m delighted to “meet” you and happy to join the party! I hope you and Ivonne will make this an annual event. 🙂

Leave a Reply

