The great eventful Present hides the Past;
but through the din of its loud life
hints and echoes from the life behind steal in.
— John Greenleaf Whittier —
One of the most charming homes in Hickory is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. J. Summie Propst (1853-1940) was a carpenter and woodworker by trade. Soon after he married Nancy Jane Abernathy, he began work on their home. Following the latest in Victorian fashion, Summie constructed the home with a tower, French mansard roof, single story porch, abundant bay windows and gingerbread fretwork.
The home was started in 1881 and finished in 1883. It remained in the family until 1968, when it was acquired by the Hickory Landmarks Society. It was moved from it’s original site to Shuford Memorial Gardens, restored, and now serves as a museum. It is the only remaining example of the Second Empire style of architecture in Hickory.