A Vintage Craft

Without art, the crudeness of reality
would make the world unbearable.
— George Bernard Shaw —

Click photo for a closeup of the stitch

Click photo for a closeup of the stitch

According to archaeological records, the art of beading has been around for almost 5000 years. Beadwork has been found in King Tut’s tomb, the Shōsōin Temple (8th century) in Japan, 13th century Spain and has also been traced back to 9th century B.C. in India. Seed beads are usually associated with Native Americans but these tiny beads were were a vital component of the glass industry in Venice, Italy during the war years.

For many people, including myself, beading is a passion. We bead for the same reasons other crafters crochet, knit, paint, cross stitch, scrapbook, sew, or make dolls – we enjoy working with our hands, love shapes, colors, and need a creative outlet. Beading is relaxing and therapeutic, although there are times when a therapist wouldn’t cost much more than beading supplies. It’s also an easy way to meet new friends, create unique gifts, and make a little bit of mad money.

Most of all, I love beading because it gives me a challenge and sense of accomplishment. I have arthritis, which makes it hard to hold the needle at times, and takes me longer to complete a project. It is a great ego-boost when I tuck in the last piece of thread or wire, snip off the end and sit back with a steaming cup of tea to view my latest effort. Then, I grab the camera and indulge in my other passion before heading over to Bead by Design to show my friend what I made and restock on beads.

The piece above is one of those efforts. It is based on a variation of the netting stitch and is worked with Red Jasper and gold lined seed beads. If you would like to see more of my “creations”, please click here.

4 thoughts on “A Vintage Craft

  1. This is truly beautiful!
    I too bead but not the more detailed creations – I’m a little impatient and need results more quickly.
    I looked at your other pieces as well – wonderful detail.
    I love the colors and combinations. For me going to a bead show is heaven but an expensive trip.

  2. My admiration of your skill knows no bounds. Astounding … I am so impressed that you work the designs up yourself.

    ANd to top it off … you do all this whilst suffering from arthritis … Gulp!

Leave a Reply

