A Food Lover's Dream

There’s a party goin’ on right here, a
celebration to last throughout the years.

— Kool and the Gang (Celebration) —

Hickory’s 23rd Annual Oktoberfest began this morning and should be in full swing by now. In keeping with the last week, it was cloudy and drizzling rain when the vendors began setting up their booths. Ignoring the weather, my camera and I joined them – which is why I’m slow to comment on the Skywatch photos.

Food signs - Click to enlarge

Oktoberfest is a three day event and usually draws a crowd of around 100,000 people. Most of them come on the second day but there were a few brave souls getting an early start for the crafts and food.

Oh, the food! One side street has nothing but food vendors. You can find popcorn, hot dogs, corndogs, bratwurst, burgers, buffalo wings, barbequed pork, nachos, italian sausage, gyros, greek salads, ribbon fries, chili, bloomin’ onions, German potato pancakes, Cajun chicken, grilled shrimp, Philly steak…the list goes on.

Just looking at the sweets will send you into sugar shock and clog your arteries. Booth after booth of cotton candy, caramel apples, ice cream, cinnamon twists, fried donuts, cookies, fudge, candies and the absolute favorite of everyone – funnel cakes.

Pick your topping(s): plain (powdered sugar), cinnamon sugar, strawberries, walnuts, peanut butter, hot fudge, chocolate chips, caramel, whipped cream, maple syrup, etc. The food lines are long but you can grow old waiting in line for a funnel cake. Which is the real reason I went early…so I could ignore my no-cholesterol, no-fat diet and be first in line. 🙂

We’ll talk about the crafts tomorrow. I’ve made myself hungry again and that calls for a trip uptown for some BBE (bratwurst, beer and entertainment) – as soon as I remember where I left my Bavarian hat…

Prosit!

2 thoughts on “A Food Lover's Dream

  1. Your blog has been included in our guide Around The World.

    The guide is both a record of old blogs and a listing of new blogs. Although originally arising from the CDPB lists this is an independent publication. Inclusion here does not imply that a blog qualifies for nor is officially a CDPB. Our criteria are that photographs mainly from a specific geographical location (not necessarily a “city” but usually more specific than a whole country or region) are posted at dated intervals (not necessarily daily) and archives are readily searchable by date.

    Please keep us informed of any changes to your details.

  2. I love the funnel cake! I had two in one week. At our Balloon Fiesta I paid $7 for a skimpy one. Then at the Pumpkin Patch, paid $4 for a fat one. I think I’ve had enough for this year.

Leave a Reply

